Ventnor Heritage Centre

"To Collect, Record and preserve the rich heritage and history of Ventnor and surrounding villages, and share it with local and wider communities"

Gallery |

Gallery

  • George and Sarah Field and their children in about 1864; they had a drapery shop at No 1 Spring Hill.

  • Ventnor High Street in the early 1900s, close to the junction with Spring Hill.

  • Tom Wheeler in Wheeler's Bay

  • Ventnor Esplanade, about 1880

  • The 'Pacific Glory' tanker burning off Ventnor in 1970

  • Ventnor Railway Station in 1866

  • A group of Burts brewery workers in the 1880s.

  • The Balmoral Hotel used to stand on Bath Road, overlooking what is now the Spyglass Inn.

  • The Bijou cinema in Ventnor High Street, about 1920.

  • The Old Rectory Godshill, now the site of the Model Village.

  • Luggage being unloaded outside the Royal Marine Hotel.

  • Old Park, St Lawrence, with carriage at door, about 1880

  • Yard Farm Godshill in 1925

  • Farmer's wife and boy with chickens at Yard Farm Godshill in 1925

  • A "Bicycle Gymkhana" held in Ventnor Park in September 1905.

  • Bertram and George Gosden on Ventnor Beach, 1916.


Exhibitions, stories, images . . .

Rayner’s Hotel

Rayner's Temperance, Family and Commercial hotel used to stand on Victoria Street almost opposite the junction with Albert Street. It was popular and  well appointed, ran a special bus to meet visitors at Ventnor Station, and also provided a tennis court  and pleasure gardens for guests a few minutes away in Dudley Road (where the car park is now). The first telephone in Ventnor was said to be an 'acoustic' one connecting Rayner's Hotel in Victoria Street with Mr F Baker's Postingmaster's premises in Mill Street (now Pier Street). Damaged by enemy bombs in 1944, the hotel was demolished later that year. The site became a garage and later a supermarket.  

Sidebar